Sunday Night Football, Week 14–Patriots at Chargers

I am so excited for tonight’s game!  I mean, I am excited every week for every Patriots game, but I think this is going to be a really good one.
carrie underwood
In general (and this is not just because I’m biased!), I do think that Patriots are a better team than the Chargers.  Tom Brady is 5-0 against the Chargers with Philip Rivers at the helm.  However, the Patriots’ three losses this year have happened on the road.  The upshot there is that they’ve been in San Diego all week, having headed there directly from Green Bay following their Week 13 loss.  The lack of jet lag certainly can’t hurt.

And of course, in the last seven seasons, the Patriots have only lost three games in December.   I’ll add that Tom Brady is 45-7 in his career in December, but with the caveat that Philip Rivers is also no slouch in this department at 30-6.

Neither of these teams lacks for offensive weapons (in fact, the Pats are currently third in the league in scoring!), however, the Patriots defense ranks 23rd against the pass.  The implication here is obvious–Rivers will be looking to throw the ball.  To me, Antonio Gates is the most obvious threat–especially with the history between him and Rivers–but I have a feeling he will be more than adequately covered.  That leaves Keenan Allen (762 yards on 72 targets with 4 TDs this season), Malcom Floyd (689 yards on 39 targets with 4 TDs), and Eddie Royal (532 yards on 43 targets with 6 TDs) as other, very viable targets.  Sounds like Revis and Browner will have their hands full, but I think they and the rest of the D are up to the task.

The key to this game?
I typically think of Rivers as being pretty patient but I am fondly hoping the Pats can duplicate their Week 12 pass rushing form and really get some good pressure on him.   I’ve seen Rivers kind of lose his cool when things begin to unravel in this way and it’s highly amusing, not to mention extremely helpful to his opponents’ cause.
rivers-u-mad
The Bottom Line
I think this is going to be a great game and I’m so jazzed for it.  I do think the Patriots will win but I also think it’s going to be hard-fought and close right up until the end.  I may just have to take a nap this afternoon to make sure my pregnant ass can definitely stay up for the whole thing.

LET’S GO PATS!!!

About patsthebunny

Patriots fan giving a ladylike take on all things NFL.
This entry was posted in Regular Season, Sunday Night Football and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment